Award categories 

StarT will award:

1) creative teams of children and youngsters and their supervisors

2) the best practices of learning communities related to carrying out StarT and possible StarT fairs

3) the most active country

A warm welcome to all!

Awards 2016-2017

The grand prize of StarT is a trip to to the StarT Gala organized in Helsinki, Finland, on May 23rd, 2017. The grand prize will be given to one project team (a maximum of six persons including adults), as well as to one learning community for the best practices related to carrying out StarT (a maximum of two representatives). The award includes travel costs and accommodation in Helsinki for the team.

A live stream of the gala will also be available online. The StarT Gala is a memorable award ceremony where each invited team will be awarded one of the main prizes. Participation in the gala and receiving awards will also be possible through live video calls.

In addition, three project teams and three best practices of learning communities chosen by the StarT jury from all StarT participants will receive the international LUMA StarT award 2017.

The top project teams will receive special honorary diplomas and exclusive visibility in the media. Other successful teams are awarded surprise awards.

The most active country in the StarT project will also receive exclusive visibility and an honorary diploma.

Every participant will receive a diploma of participation.

The Jury

The members of International LUMA StarT Award 2017 jury are:

Esa Räsänen

  • Professor, Laboratory of Physics, Tampere University of Technology
  • Vice Dean for Education, Faculty of Natural Sciences
  • Head of the Quantum Control and Dynamics Group
  • Director of the LUMATE Centre Tampere

Marianne Jokila

  • Project manager
  • Teknologiateollisuuden 100-vuotissäätiö
  • Teknologiateollisuus ry

Ilkka Pollari

  • Suomalaisten kemistien seura

Sohvi Sundqvist-Holappa

  • Suomen luokanopettajat ry, member of the board

Leena Pöntynen

  • Senior advisor, Suomen kuntaliitto

Councellor for Education Teijo Koljonen

  • Finnish National Agency for Education

Sari Veikkolainen

  • HR-specialist, YLE

Professor Maija Aksela

  • Director of the LUMA Centre Finland and the LUMA (STEM) Centre at the University of Helsinki

Outi Haatainen

  • Project manager of StarT, LUMA Centre Finland

Essi Purhonen

  • Project manager of StarT International, LUMA Centre Finland